Skip navigation

Again, I’ve left an unacceptably large gap between blog entries — eleven days. That’s an even larger gap than the seven days I called unacceptably large last time. The problem is something I like to call “blog entry ADD” (or at least, for the purposes of this entry we will say I like to call it that). It’s not that I have nothing to write about. It’s that I can’t concentrate long enough to finish an entry on the one topic.

This is what I’ve been doing for most of the last eleven days. I get this new, shiny idea for a blog entry, open the “Add New Post” page, and start typing. If I finish the first paragraph, I hit trouble on the second; I have no idea where to go from my introduction, or how to structure the entry such that I hit every point I want to make concisely and obviously and cleanly. And then I give up.

The next day, I might open the entry and tell myself to finish it, but I don’t have any more ideas than I had the previous day. I leave the tab open, but go and do stuff in other tabs. Undoubtedly, one of these other activities will inspire a brand new shiny idea, so I’ll come back and start writing about that one. And so the cycle continues.

If I forced myself to sit down every day and finish an entry, I’d have enough for at least a week. And by the end of that week, of course, I’d probably have enough ideas for another week! That said, it’s not going to happen. If I did sit down and force myself, it’d still take hours to finish the entry. Those hours are hours I need to do other things, like attend school, or sleep, or do homework, or eat, or chill out and do fun things like read or watch DVDs or talk to people.

The end result is, no blog entries.

Am I alone in suffering from “blog entry ADD”, or do others suffer from it as well? Does anyone know what the cure is?

One Comment

  1. Oh, I know what that’s like! Some of my posts were actually written a long time ago. Sometimes, I just need to leave them for a little bit and edit them over and over again until they sound fine to me. Sometimes, my posts aren’t even very structured but it’s not that big of a deal.

    If you’re having a hard time writing blog posts, try purge writing more often. Write whatever comes to mind and just go back and edit it later. 🙂 Hopefully, it will help you out!


Leave a Reply

